User User name Password  

Saturday 8.6.2024 / 16:51
Search AfterDawn Forums:        In English   Suomeksi   På svenska
afterdawn.com > forums > consoles > xbox 360 - everything else > playing .avi files on an xbox 360 elite - christmas gift for a friend - please help
Show topics

Forums
Forums
Playing .avi files on an Xbox 360 Elite - Christmas Gift for a Friend - Please Help
  Jump to:

Posted Message
jpersonette11
_
23. December 2012 @ 13:11 _ Link to this message    Send private message to this user   
Hi there,

I'm a newbie, but have tried to do my own research & tests before coming here to post a question. But I have run into some snags, and don't know where to go from here.

My friend plays .avi files through her tv, but only has her laptop to do so. So when her latop is connected to her tv via HDMI, she can't sit back and use her laptop to do work/personal stuff.

I just realized though (don't laugh), that her xbox (that I bought as a gift) has more capabilities than just playing video games. Hence playing videos, .avi files, and thas a 250HD built in.

For xmas, I want to get her xbox set-up so that she could play a movie immediately without her laptop. She has all her files on a larger Seagate GoFlex 1.5TB portable hard drive, so I first tried one of the front USB ports on the Xbox. It didn't recognize it, and then I checked the format. It was NTFS, and I have read that it will never read NTFS. I tried to re-format the hard drive to FAT32, but that didn't work either.

I also then learned that (even if it was in the right format) that an xbox only reads flash drives NO LARGER than 32gb. Is that true?

If so, I grabbed a flash/usb drive her, checked the format, and it read FAT32. I then put that into the system to see if it would read. Which it did.